Election Information

The City Council consists of a Mayor and six Councilmembers. All positions are elected from the city at large, and have three year terms. Elections are held annually on the May Uniform Election date (first Saturday in May).

The qualifications for Mayor and Councilmembers are: must be on the date of the election at least 21 years of age; a citizen of the United States; a registered voter of the State of Texas; must reside and have resided for at least one year preceding the election at which he is a candidate within the corporate limits of Saginaw; must not be in arrears in the payment of any taxes due the city; and meet all other qualifications prescribed by Article 1.05 of the Texas Election Code and any amendment thereof.

The City of Saginaw is having a 2017 City Council Election for Councilmember Place 4 and Place 6.

Early Voting:

  • Dates/Times:
    • Monday, April 24 through Friday, April 28 from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
    • Saturday, April 29 from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
    • Sunday, April 30 from 11:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
    • Monday, May 1 & Tuesday, May 2 from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
  • Location:  According to your precinct (click here)

Election Day


  • Date:  Saturday, May 6, 2017
  • Time:  7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
  • Location:  Saginaw Senior Center (Log Cabin), 405 S. Belmont. (map)


The following candidates will be listed on the ballot for election:

  • Councilmember Place 4:
    • Valerie Tankersley
    • Sheri A. Adams
  • Councilmember Place 6: 
    • Coy Johnson
    • Mary Copeland
For more information, check out the Tarrant County Elections web site at www.tarrantcounty.com or click here.